2 Awarded The 2015 Nobel Prize In Physics For Neutrino Discovery

BREAKING NEWS The 2015 #NobelPrize in Physics to Takaaki Kajita @UTokyo_news_en and Arthur B. McDonald @queensu pic.twitter.com/ipvzm0EEFN

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 6, 2015

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on Tuesday to Japanese scientist Takaaki Kajita and Canadian scientist Arthur B. McDonald for their discovery of neutrino oscillations, “which shows that neutrinos have mass.”

According to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the discovery has “changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe.”

Takaaki is the director of Institute for Cosmic Ray Research and a professor at University of Tokyo in Kashiwa, Japan. McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen’s University in Kingston, Canada.

How the Nobel Committee selects the Physics Laureates: #NobelPrize pic.twitter.com/njKybJArCw

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 6, 2015

The Nobel Prizes in chemistry, literature and peace will be announced later this week. The economics prize will be awarded next Monday.

This is a developing story. More to come…

Also On HuffPost:

– This feed and its contents are the property of The Huffington Post, and use is subject to our terms. It may be used for personal consumption, but may not be distributed on a website.

—> Read More