How To Track Santa Claus Around The World This Christmas Eve

Santa Claus is coming to town!

And you’ll see exactly where he is this Christmas Eve, thanks again to the North American Aerospace Defense Command — or NORAD — at Peterson Air Force Base in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

It’s the sixtieth year the base has used its radars, satellites and fighter jets to track Saint Nick’s yuletide journey.

Parents and children can log on to from 12:01 a.m. MST (2:01 a.m. EST) on Christmas Eve to see “Santa Cam” videos of the jolly gift-giver preparing his sleigh and reindeer for the long night ahead, according to a statement from NORAD.

Kris Kringle will then take to the skies, with his route chronicled via NORAD’s website, Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus and YouTube accounts, and dedicated Apple and Android apps.

From 4 a.m. MST (6 a.m. EST) on Thursday, operators will be on hand via 1-877-Hi-NORAD (1-877-446-6723) or the email to reveal his whereabouts.

Windows Phone users can ask Cortana for his location, and OnStar subscribers can press the OnStar button in their vehicles.

The tradition reportedly started in 1955 when a local business in Colorado Springs advertised a Santa hotline that kids could call on Christmas Eve.

But the number was misprinted, and children instead rang through to the Continental Air Defense Command Operations Center.

Crew Commander Harry Shoup and his staffers graciously fielded the calls, and the tradition carried on until the present day, even when the center became NORAD — whose main mission is monitoring air and space threats against the U.S. and Canada — in 1958.