Live Discussion: How Good is the Science of “Interstellar?”

Kip Thorne's concept for a black hole in 'Interstellar.' Image Credit: Paramount Pictures

Kip Thorne’s concept for a black hole in ‘Interstellar.’ Image Credit: Paramount Pictures

The highly anticipated film “Interstellar” is based on science and theory; from wormholes, to the push-pull of gravity on a planet, to the way a black hole might re-adjust your concept of time. But just how much of the movie is really true to what we know about the Universe? There has also been some discussion whether the physics used for the visual effects in the movie actually was good enough to produce some science. But how much of it is just creative license?

Today, (Wed. November 26) at 19:00 UTC (3 pm EDT, 12:00 pm PDT), the Kavli foundation hosts a live discussion with three astrophysicists who will answer viewers’ questions about black holes, relativity and gravity, to separate the movie’s science facts from its science fiction.
(…)
Read the rest of Live Discussion: How Good is the Science of “Interstellar?” (79 words)


© nancy for Universe Today, 2014. |
Permalink |
No comment |

Post tags: , , , ,

Feed enhanced by Better Feed from <a target="_blank" —> Read More Here

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *