NASA’s MESSENGER Spacecraft Collides with Mercury

MESSENGER mission scientists have confirmed that the probe impacted the surface of Mercury on April 30th, as predicted, at 3:26 p.m. EDT (12:26 p.m. PDT, 7:26 p.m. GMT, 9:26 p.m. CET). Traveling some 8,750 mph (3.91 km per second), MESSENGER made an unseen crater on Mercury’s far side. MESSENGER was launched on August 3, 2004, [...] —> Read More