Viewing Guide to the 2015 Geminid Meteor Shower

A brilliant Geminid meteor shower photographed from Mt. Balang, China. Credit: NASA/Kevin Wu

A brilliant Geminid flashes below Sirius and Orion from Mt. Balang, China. Credit: NASA/Alvin Wu

2015 looks like a fantastic year for the Geminids. With the Moon just 3 days past new and setting at the end of evening twilight, conditions couldn’t be more ideal. Provided the weather cooperates! But even there we get a break. With a maximum of 120 meteors per hour, the shower is expected to peak around 18:00 UT (1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST) December 14th, making for two nights of approximately equal activity: Sunday night Dec. 13-14 and Monday night Dec. 14-15. (…)
Read the rest of Viewing Guide to the 2015 Geminid Meteor Shower (762 words)


© Bob King for Universe Today, 2015. |
Permalink |
No comment |

Post tags: , , ,

Feed enhanced by Better Feed from Ozh

—> Read More

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail